"Bagua Zhang is one of the three orthodox "internal"
styles of Chinese martial art (the other two are
Taijiquan and Xingyiquan). Translated, Bagua means
"Eight Trigram". This refers to the eight basic
principles described in the ancient metaphysical
treatise the Yijing (I-Ching), or "Book of Changes".
Bagua is meant to be the physical manifestation of
these eight principles. "Zhang" means "palm" and
designates Bagua Zhang as a style of martial art
which emphasizes the use of the open hand over the
closed fist. It is also characterized by its use of
spinning movement and extremely evasive footwork.
Bagua Zhang as a martial art is based on the theory
of continuously changing in response to the situation
at hand in order to overcome an opponent with skill
rather than brute force. "

- Described by William Breazeal



The creation of Bagua Zhang, as a formalized martial art, is attributed to Dong Hai Chuang (???)
in the early 19th century. He has a few disciples, among them Cheng Ting Hua and Yin Fu were
two well-know disciples. Although they were all students of the same teacher, their methods of
training and expressions of palm techniques differed. People named Master Cheng`s practice as
Cheng style and Master Yin`s practice as Yin style. Li Jing practices Cheng style Bugua Zhang.
Her master is Sun Zhi Jun, who is a representative of the 4th generation Bagua Zhang practitioners.

To watch Master Sun`s performance on YOU TUBE, please click>>